HelpGetting started
Understand your actions in Status
cheny0
and
on Jun 14, 2024

Status app is currently in beta stage
The Status app is currently in its beta stage. This means the application is still undergoing active development, and certain features described in this document may function differently or be unavailable within the app.

Status is an open-source, decentralized crypto communication super app. This article walks you through the actions you can perform within Status and highlights important points to consider.

ActionWhat happens
Use Status Wallet with a Keycard hardware walletProtect your funds by storing the private keys of your Wallet accounts offline in an air-gapped environment.
Create Wallet accountsOnce you create a Status profile, you also get a Wallet account. You can create additional accounts to save towards your goals and keep track of your assets.
Import an account into your Status WalletIf you already have a crypto account, you can import it into Status to store, receive and send crypto assets. You can also add watch-only accounts to keep track of their transactions.
Share your account address in Status WalletSharing your address is safe. Others can't access your funds using just your address. But anyone who has your address can view your transaction history.
Buy cryptoYou can browse and buy crypto assets in Status.
Send crypto to someoneOnce the transaction is complete, you can't revert it.
Swap cryptoExchange one type of crypto for another.
Bridge cryptoYou can transfer your crypto assets from one blockchain to another.

ActionWhat happens
Use Status profile with a Keycard hardware walletProtect your profile and your Status Wallet by storing the private keys of your Wallet accounts offline in an air-gapped environment.
Sync your profile across devicesOnce you set up the syncing, your Status profile data on your devices are in sync automatically until you unpair the devices.
Create additional Status profilesThe login screen shows multiple profiles. Each profile has its own recovery phrase and password. You can switch profiles from the
Profiles
option.
View your profile as someone elseYou can see what your profile looks like to the public, your Status contacts or verified contacts.
Remove a Status profile from your profile listThe Status profile disappears from your profile list on this device. The associated profile data is deleted from this device. If you want the profile to appear again, log in within 30 days.
Mute your non-messaging notificationsYou get notifications for incoming messages but not for other activities in Status.
Log out of StatusYour Status profile is logged out from the current device. If you don't log into the profile for 30 days or more (on any device), your crypto funds are safe, but your profile is irrecoverably lost.

ActionWhat happens
Verify a contactThe contact receives your verification request with your question. You can label the contact as trusted or untrusted based on the answer.
Label a contact as trusted or untrustedYou see the corresponding label on the contact's profile. Labeling a contact does not notify the contact.
Reject a contact requestRejecting a contact request does not notify the sender. However, the user can send you a new request every seven days.
Block a Status userBlocked users can't send you messages. Status permanently deletes all messages sent by the blocked user for you.
Unblock a Status userYour communication with the user resumes, but you can't see the messages deleted after blocking the user again.
Remove a Status contactYour direct messages with the user remain. The user can send you a contact request again.

ActionWhat happens
Send a DM to a contact or a group of contactsOnly the contact or the group of contacts can receive and view your message.
Pin a message in a DM, group chat or channelAll members with access to the conversation can see pinned messages and files.
React to a message with an emojiThe emoji is shown under the message. The sender doesn't receive a notification.
Reply to a messageThe message appears above your reply, and the message sender receives a notification.
Enable rich link previews in messagesThe web page preview appears under the link.
Mention someoneThe users receive a notification and see a badge in the chat showing the number of their mentions.
Use global mentionsAll users in the community, channel or group chat receive a notification.
Mute all notificationsYou don't receive any notifications in the Status app.
Mute notifications for a channel, community, group chat or direct messageYou don't receive notifications from the muted channel, community, group chat or contact.
Close a chatThe chat disappears from your chats list. It reappears either when the contact sends you a new message or when you decide to send a new message to the contact.
Delete a messageYou can delete your messages anytime, for yourself or everyone. If the recipients don't get online after you send the message, this message remains in their devices.
Clear group chat historyThe group chat owner can clear its history for all members. If you're not the Owner, clearing the chat history only affects your view. Other users still see the full history.

ActionWhat happens
Import a communityThe community page opens, and you can see its introduction and join requirements.
Request to join a communityThe community Owner can accept or reject your request. To check the status of your request, go to the community screen. You can send a request again if you are rejected.
Choose the Wallet account address you share with a communityYou can change the addresses you share anytime. However, to maintain access to a token-gated community or channel, or keep your management role in a community, you must share the address with the required tokens at all times.
Change your community token requirementsMembers who do not own the tokens that meet the updated requirements lose access immediately.
Mint a token for your communityThe token is stored in your community wallet account. You can use it for community permissions or airdrops.
Mint the Owner and TokenMaster tokensYou can use the tokens to grant the Owner and TokenMaster roles to help you administer your community.
Import a token to your communityThe token is stored in your community wallet account. You can use it to set community permissions.
Burn your community tokensYou permanently remove tokens from circulation, effectively reducing their total supply and increasing token scarcity.
Turn off the Community History ServiceYour community members can't receive messages older than 30 days. Also, they can no longer download the existing archives for historical messages.
Transfer community ownershipYou are no longer the community Owner. The new owner's computer becomes a control node with full control of the community, including its settings, permissions and membership approvals.
Co-manage your communityAfter you delegate administrative functions to other people, they can help you manage the community.
Voting to make a community public or featuredIf the vote passes, the community can be discovered by all users on the Discovery page of the Status app.
Reject a user's request to join your communityThe rejected user can't join your community. The user can send a new join request.
Kick someone from your communityThe member loses access to your community but can ask to join the community again.
Ban someone from your communityThe member loses access to your community permanently and can't ask to join the community again.

ActionWhat happens
Change your channel token requirementsMembers who do not own the tokens that meet the updated requirements lose access immediately.
Send a message in an open channelAll members in the community can read the message when they view the channel.
Send a message in a token-gated channel.Only members with access to the channel can read the message.
Send a message in a view-only channel.Channel members can view and react to messages, but they can't post messages on the channel.
Was this article helpful?
Every feedback takes us closer to helping you!