Status app is currently in beta stage
The Status app is currently in its beta stage. This means the application is still undergoing active development, and certain features described in this document may function differently or be unavailable within the app.
You can block a stranger or an existing contact to stop receiving harmful content and excluding the user entirely from your experience with Status.
Blocking someone deletes all messages from the user. Status can't recover them for you.
Blocked users don't receive any notifications. They only know that you have stopped messaging them.
If blocked users check your profile, they can see information you made public, and they can see you are not their contact.
You can't see any future messages sent by blocked users, including direct messages and messages in mutual group chats, channels and communities.
Blocked users can see your previous direct messages and future messages you send in mutual group chats, channels and communities.
Status permanently deletes for you all messages sent previously by the blocked user, including direct messages and messages in mutual group chats, channels and communities.
Unblocking a user does not restore deleted messages.
Status stops showing blocked users as mutual contacts.
Tap , then tap the profile picture of the contact you want to block. From the top navigation, tap .
Check the two boxes if you want to remove the user's identity verification and remove the user from your contacts.
A stranger is a user who is not your contact. You can encounter a stranger in a group chat, community or channel. You can receive a contact request from a stranger.
|Mutual group chat|From the tab bar, tap > .
Long press the group chat.
|Mutual community or channel|From the tab bar, tap > .
Long press the community.
| Contact request|
From the tab bar, tap > > .
Tap the profile picture of the user.
From the top navigation, tap .
Tap your profile picture.
Go to > .
Blocked and rejected users
Tap the profile picture of the user you want to unblock.