HelpCommunities
Kick or ban someone from your community
jorge-campo
and
on Apr 17, 2024

Status app is currently in beta stage
The Status app is currently in its beta stage. This means the application is still undergoing active development, and certain features described in this document may function differently or be unavailable within the app.

Community Owners can kick out or ban members who violate the community guidelines or behave in a toxic manner. The difference between a kick and a ban in Status Communities is that a kick is temporary, while a ban is permanent. Community Owners can kick or ban members in open and token-gated communities.

In the case of minor offences or annoyances, consider kicking the offender. For major violations of the community guidelines or repeated offences, you can use the ban option. Use the ban option cautiously, as this action is irreversible.

info
Banning or kicking a user on your Status contact list doesn't remove the contact. If you want to remove the user from your contact list, remove the contact or block the user.

  • A user who has been kicked out of a community can ask to join the community again.
  • A user who has been banned from a community cannot join the community again, but can request to join using a different profile.
  • Users receive a notification when they are kicked out but not when they are banned.
  • Users can see they have been kicked out or banned when they try to reaccess the community.

  1. 1
    From the tab bar, tap
    Communities
    .
  2. 2
    Tap your community.
  3. 3
    From the navigation bar, tap
    More options
    .
  4. 4
    Tap
    View members
    and then, tap
    More options
    next to the member you want to kick or ban.
  5. 5
    Select
    Kick
    or
    Ban
    , depending on the action you wish to perform.
  6. 6
    Tap
    Kick
    or
    Ban
    again to confirm your action.