HelpCommunities
Revoke the TokenMaster role from someone
jorge-campo
and
on Feb 20, 2024

In Status Communities, Owners can grant the TokenMaster role to others by airdropping them the TokenMaster token. The TokenMaster role in a community is optional, but it can help Owners administer the community tokens, membership and permissions.

When you airdrop the TokenMaster token to someone, they become a TokenMaster and gain administrative privileges in your community. To revoke this role, you need to destruct the TokenMaster token in their wallet.

info
The TokenMaster token recipient must be a community member to exercise the TokenMaster role.

  • The ability to destruct the TokenMaster token remotely is a built-in feature of this token and exclusive to community Owners.
  • Destructing the TokenMaster token is a transaction on the Ethereum blockchain, so you need to pay a gas fee to complete the transaction.
  • When you destruct the TokenMaster token remotely, it disappears from the recipient's wallet, and they lose the TokenMaster role immediately. The user receives a notification informing them that they lost the role.
  • Community Owners can always destruct the TokenMaster token, even if the recipient is not a community member.
  • If you revoked the TokenMaster role from someone by mistake or change your mind, you can airdrop a new TokenMaster token to them.

  1. 1
    From the navigation sidebar, click your community.
  2. 2
    On top of the channel sidebar, click your community logo and then click
    Tokens
    .
  3. 3
    Under the
    Collectibles
    tab, select the TokenMaster token, identified by the
    TMaster-
    prefix and the
    crypto-coins icon.
  4. 4
    Right-click a token holder in the
    TokenMaster token holders
    area and choose how to revoke their TokenMaster role:
    OptionResult
    Remotely destruct token
    Removes the TokenMaster token from the holder's wallet
    Kick
    Removes the TokenMaster token from the holder's wallet and kicks out the user from the community
    Ban
    Removes the TokenMaster token from the holder's wallet and bans the user from the community
  5. 5
    On the next screen, review the transaction
    Fees
    . If you're banning the user, you can optionally
    Delete all messages posted by the user
    in the community.
  6. 6
    To confirm, click the
    Remotely destruct token
    option that you previously chose.
  7. 7
    Review the transaction details and click
    Sign transaction
    to destroy the TokenMaster token and revoke the role.
info
Use the ban option cautiously. Banned users can't rejoin the community unless the owner chooses to lift the ban.