HelpCommunities
Revoke a community token from someone
jorge-campo
and
on May 15, 2024

Community Owners and TokenMasters can revoke tokens from community and non-community members by remotely destructing the token.

Depending on the token you revoke, the user may lose access to certain privileges or roles in the community. For example, if you revoke a token you minted and this token is required to be a member of your token-gated community, the user loses access to the community.

info
To learn more about the consequences of taking back a token from someone, check out Understand token revocation consequences.

Only Community Owners can revoke the TokenMaster token. To learn how to do that, see Revoke the TokenMaster role from someone.

  • Owners and TokenMasters can revoke any community token they granted, even if the user is not a community member.
  • You can only revoke collectibles (NFTs) you minted for the community.
  • When you revoke the token remotely, it disappears from the owner's Wallet. The user receives a notification telling them you revoked their token.
  • The Status app tracks the current token owner. If you send a non-soulbound token to someone and they pass it on, revoking the token will remove it from the latest token holder.
  • Destructing a token is a transaction on the Ethereum blockchain, so you need to pay a gas fee to complete the transaction.

  1. 1
    From the navigation sidebar, click your community.
  2. 2
    On top of the channel sidebar, click your community logo and then click
    Tokens
    .
  3. 3
    Under the
    Collectibles
    tab, select the token you want to revoke.
  4. 4
    In the token page, click
    Remotely destruct
    .

  1. 1
    Under the list of users, check the box next to the user or users from whom you want to revoke the token.
  2. 2
    Optionally, select the number of tokens to revoke in the
    drop-down menu.
  3. 3
    Review the transaction
    Fees
    and choose the account to pay for them. You can preview the fees as you change the number of users or tokens.
  4. 4
    Click
    Remotely destruct tokens
    and confirm your action in the pop-up window.
  5. 5
    Review the transaction total cost and click
    Sign transaction
    .