HelpCommunities
Change a token-gated community to open
jorge-campo
and
on Jul 18, 2024

Status app is currently in beta stage
The Status app is currently in its beta stage. This means the application is still undergoing active development, and certain features described in this document may function differently or be unavailable within the app.
info
You can only set up token-gated and open communities using Status desktop.

In a token-gated community, users should meet specific token requirements to join. As a community Owner, you can change a token-gated community into an open one so that anyone can join even if they don't own any tokens.

info
In addition to token requirements, you can require manual approval of new join requests. Token requirements and manual approval work independently.

You might want to transition from a token-gated community to an open one for various reasons. For instance, you might want to grow your community by attracting new members, or perhaps you want to make your community more inclusive by removing the entry barrier.

tip
You can use token-gated communities and channels separately. For example, you can set up an open Status Community but restrict access to certain channels.

  • To transform your token-gated community into an open one, remove all the
    Become member
    community permissions.
  • Any token-gated channel within your community remains token-gated unless you change it to open.
  • If your community requires new members to send a join request, you still need to approve new member requests manually.
  • You can change your community from token-gated to open at any time.

  1. 1
    From the navigation sidebar, click your community.
  2. 2
    At the top of the channel sidebar, click your community logo and then click
    Permissions
    .
  3. 3
    In the list of permissions, locate the
    Become member
    permission and click
    Delete
    .
  4. 4
    Click Delete permission to confirm your action.
  5. 5
    If you have more than one
    Become member
    permission, delete each one.
info
If your community doesn't have any permissions listed in the
Permissions
screen, it's already an open community.
Updated by
jkbktl
on Jul 18, 2024
Was this article helpful?
Every feedback takes us closer to helping you!