HelpCommunities
Change a token-gated channel to open
jorge-campo
and
on Apr 03, 2024

Status app is currently in beta stage
The Status app is currently in its beta stage. This means the application is still undergoing active development, and certain features described in this document may function differently or be unavailable within the app.
info
You can only set up token-gated channels using Status desktop.

Token-gated channels require members to meet specific token requirements to join and participate in the conversation. As a community Owner, you can change a token-gated channel into an open one, allowing anyone to join without requiring tokens.

tip
Token-gated channels show a
lock symbol next to the channel name.

You might want to change from a token-gated channel to an open one for various reasons. For instance, if you want to grow your community by attracting more individuals who can't or don't want to acquire the required tokens. Alternatively, you may want to simplify your community administration by removing token requirements.

info
You can use token-gated channels and communities separately. For example, you can keep the channels open but restrict access to your community.

  • Remove all the
    View and post
    and
    View only
    permissions in the channel you want to open.
  • If you want to change the channel to view-only for everyone, keep the
    View only
    channel permission. For more information, check out Set up a view-only channel.
  • You can change your channel from token-gated to open or the other way around at any time.

  1. 1
    From the navigation sidebar, click your community.
  2. 2
    At the top of the channel sidebar, click your community logo and then click
    Permissions
    .
  3. 3
    In the list of permissions, locate the
    View and post
    or
    View only
    permissions in the channel you want to open.
  4. 4
    If the permission applies only to this channel, click
    Delete
    and click
    Delete permission
    to confirm your action.
  5. 5
    If the permission applies to other channels as well, click
    Edit
    and remove the channel you want to open from the
    In
    variable. Finally, click
    Update permission
    .