HelpCommunities
Back up your community private key
jorge-campo
on Jul 18, 2024

Status app is currently in beta stage
The Status app is currently in its beta stage. This means the application is still undergoing active development, and certain features described in this document may function differently or be unavailable within the app.
info
You can only back up your community key using Status desktop.

When you create a Status Community, the Status app generates a public and a private cryptographic key (a key pair). In essence, these keys are very large numbers securely stored on your device and protected by your Status password.

The community private key provides control over your community settings, membership approvals and other important aspects of its operation. Use your community private key backup to recover the community onto another device or to transfer your community ownership to someone else.

caution
Manually transferring your community from one computer to another by copying the private key is an insecure method of handling a private key. Still, it's currently the only way to do so We're aware of this issue and plan to implement a secure solution in a future release. In the meantime, be extra cautious when handling your community key and keep it safe.

  • As a community Owner, you're responsible for backing up your community private key and keeping it safe. Status doesn't have access to this key and can't recover it for you.
  • Anyone with access to your community private key may become the Owner of the community and control its settings, permissions and membership approvals.
  • Even with your community private key, your community may disappear irretrievably if you delete it or the owner's node is offline for more than 30 days without activity.

  1. 1
    From the navigation sidebar, click your community.
  2. 2
    At the top of the channel sidebar, click your community logo and then, click
    Overview
    .
  3. 3
    In the
    Back up community key
    area, click
    Back up
    .
  4. 4
    In the pop-up window showing your community private key, click
    Copy
    .
  5. 5
    Close the window showing the key. You can access this information at any time.
  6. 6
    Paste the community private key on a document or write it down on paper.
info
Keep your community private key safe. Status will never ask you for this information, and anyone who does is trying to steal your community.

Your community configuration and messages for up to 30 days are cached in the Waku peer-to-peer network. The community private key represents proof of ownership but doesn't store the community configuration and messages.

You only need to back up your community private key once, as long as you don't lose it. You can create the backup right after you create the community.

To minimize the risk of unauthorized access to your community private key, avoid keeping online copies or screenshots of it and maintain at least one pen-and-paper backup.

Updated by
jorge-campo
on Jul 18, 2024
Was this article helpful?
Every feedback takes us closer to helping you!