HelpMessaging
Edit and delete your messages
earakel
and
on Apr 03, 2024

Status app is currently in beta stage
The Status app is currently in beta. This means the app is still undergoing active development, and certain features described in this document may function differently or be unavailable in the app.

Instead of a centralized server, Status uses a peer-to-peer network to store and send messages. When you edit or delete a message, the peer-to-peer network distributes your changes to other users running the Status app.

In some cases, users may still see your original messages even after you edit or delete them. For example, some users can:

  • Run an out-of-date version of Status that isn't fully compatible with the peer-to-peer network features.
  • Run a custom build of Status that doesn't support message editing and deletion by choice.
  • Disconnect from the network before receiving your latest changes.
info
Be careful with what you share, especially in communities. Once published to the network, what you shared may still remain on someone's device even if you choose to delete it later.

  • You can edit and delete your Status messages whenever you want: there is no time limit.
  • You can only edit text messages. If you want to edit a message that contains images or audio, you can delete and re-send it.
  • Once you edit a message, a permanent note appears next to your message saying it was edited.
  • In communities and group chats, you can hide a message you don't want to see with
    Delete for me
    . Everyone else can still see this message.
  • To delete a message for everyone, select
    Delete for everyone
    . You can only delete your own messages.
info
Your Status messages are temporarily saved in the Waku
peer-to-peer network and stored permanently on your device. They are not saved on the blockchain or transmitted via the Ethereum network.

  1. 1
    Open the community, DM chat or group chat with the message you want to delete.
  2. 2
    Long press this message.
  3. 3
    Select
    Edit message
    .
  4. 4
    Make your changes.
  5. 5
    Tap
    Send
    to publish your changes.

  1. 1
    Open the community, DM chat or group chat with the message you want to delete.
  2. 2
    Long press this message.
  3. 3
    Select
    Delete Message
    .