HelpCommunities
About view-only channels
jorge-campo
and
on 30 Nov 2023

Status app is currently in beta stage
The Status app is currently in its beta stage. This means the application is still undergoing active development, and certain features described in this document may function differently or be unavailable within the app.
info
Currently, you can only set up and manage view-only channels using Status desktop.

Channels are spaces for conversation, discussion and information sharing. By default, all community members with access to a channel can read and send messages.

As a community owner or admin, you can set a channel as view-only. To learn how to do that, check out Set up a view-only channel.

  • A read-only channel helps maintain clear, uninterrupted communication for specific purposes. While members can't respond directly in these channels, they are crucial in keeping your community informed and engaged.
  • When you set up a channel permission, only members who meet the criteria for that permission can perform the associated action within that channel.
  • Members with the token required to post in a channel, can also view channel messages, irrespective of the tokens specifically required for reading.
tip
Members with view-only access to the channel can still react to messages in the channel.

View-only channels can help keep your community organized and focused. Here are some ideas on how you can use view-only channels.

  • Community announcements and updates – To keep important announcements or updates clutter-free, use a view-only channel. Only community owners and admins can write in these channels, ensuring your message is delivered without distractions.
  • Information sharing – If there are specific resources or guidelines that members need to access regularly, a view-only channel is as a convenient and easy-to-find repository. For example, you can share information that new community members may find helpful.
  • Learning communities – In learning communities, view-only channels allow owners to share exercises and training materials while keeping the conversation focused.
  • Voting or pooling areas – Because members with view-only access can still react to messages in view-only channels, owners can use them for voting on different topics or proposals.