HelpCommunities
Use a throwaway profile in Status Web
jorge-campo
on Jun 19, 2024

Status app is currently in beta stage
The Status app is currently in its beta stage. This means the application is still undergoing active development, and certain features described in this document may function differently or be unavailable within the app.
info
Throwaway profiles are only available in Status Web.

Use a throwaway profile when you want to participate in a Status Web Community without revealing your identity. A throwaway profile is not linked to any identifiable information or other Status profile you may have.

  1. 1
    Using your browser, open the Status Web Community you want to join.
  2. 2
    From the Community sidebar, click
    Use throwaway profile
    .
  3. 3
    If you see the
    Throwaway profile found
    pop-up, click
    Load throwaway profile
    to use the existing profile or click
    Skip
    to create a new one.
  4. 4
    In the top-right corner, click
    Members
    . Your throwaway profile name appears on the members sidebar.

The throwaway profile information remains in your browser cache and persists across browser sessions and computer restarts. To delete this information, disconnect your profile.

  1. 1
    From the right sidebar, click
    logout
    next to your profile name.
  2. 2
    On the
    Disconnect
    pop-up, click
    Disconnect
    .
tip
You can also delete the throwaway profile information by clearing your browser cache.

These words represent your throwaway profile and identity in Status Web. These are randomly generated words.

A throwaway profile protects your real identity while using Status Web. However, your internet service provider and browser can still collect identifiable information (like your IP address). Status doesn't collect information about you or your activity.

Your browser cache stores your throwaway profile. You can delete this information by disconnecting your profile, clearing the cache, or using your browser in incognito or private mode.

No. Deleting a throwaway profile is an irreversible process.

There is only one throwaway profile per browser. If you want to use a new throwaway profile, delete the existing one or use a different browser.

Was this article helpful?
Every feedback takes us closer to helping you!