HelpCommunities
Understand throwaway profiles in Status Web
jorge-campo
on Jun 19, 2024

Status app is currently in beta stage
The Status app is currently in its beta stage. This means the application is still undergoing active development, and certain features described in this document may function differently or be unavailable within the app.
info
Throwaway profiles are only available in Status Web.

A throwaway profile is a disposable Status profile that you can use to join communities in Status Web. You can use a throwaway profile to join a Status Web Community without revealing your identity. Because the throwaway profile is not linked to any identifiable information or other Status profile you may have, your identity remains anonymous.

You may want to use a throwaway profile for different reasons. For example:

  • Discussing sensitive or personal information anonymously.
  • Joining a Status Web Community without revealing your identity.
  • Writing about embarrassing or stigmatising topics.

When you use a throwaway profile, Status Web assigns you an identity using three randomly generated words: adjective, adjective, and animal name. This mechanism uses significant randomisation and ensures your anonymity.

Your browser cache retains the throwaway profile information across browser sessions, different browser tabs, and computer restarts. To delete your throwaway profile, delete the profile or clear your browser cache.

tip
In the browser incognito or private mode, your throwaway profile is deleted after closing the browser window.

Be cautious with the information you share. A throwaway profile protects your identity from others. However, people may find your real identity based on the information you share. Additionally, your internet service provider and browser can still collect identifiable information about you.

Was this article helpful?
Every feedback takes us closer to helping you!